Events, Library life

Looking back on 9/11

des-moines-1390465_1280

For the 15th anniversary of the events of 9/11/2001, we put up an interactive display in the library’s lobby. The prompt was simple: “What do you remember about 9/11/2001?”

From students, faculty, and staff alike, we got a moving array of answers, which are transcribed below.

ground-zero-81886_1920

“I was in College Algebra, and an Administrator came in and announced, ‘All classes are cancelled!’ We were confused and went to the front of the building, to see the news. I just remember everyone saying ‘We are under attack,’ and driving home to be with my family. I don’t think I slept that night.”

“I was in the 1st grade and didn’t really understand what was going on. R.I.P. to the individuals [who lost] their lives during all attacks.”

“I remember nothing but PAIN.”

“I was 4 years old and my mom was crying. I didn’t understand.”

“I remember when I was only 5 years old, my mom received a call from my uncle saying that they were bombing the World Trade Center again. So she turned on the TV and saw both towers smoking. She later found out that two planes crashed into the building.”

“I was 5 years old on 9/11/2001 and I don’t remember what happened.”

pentagon-60569_1920

“I was teaching my 4th grade class when a co-worker alerted us to the crazy news that a plane had flown into the WTC. We turned on TVs to follow the developing story, hardly believing what was happening. #neverforget”

“I was watching Oprah, and I cried. I was so shocked by the great tragedy. I want to remember the victims.”

“I was very young but I remember my mom and dad frantically calling the people they knew that lived there in New York. We had to do several reports on the event in school and it seemed like the entire nation was depressed and scared.”

“I remember how unreal it seemed.”

“It was a vague memory.”

“I was in 5th grade, living in Oregon. At school, we spent the whole day watching the news and discussing & journalling about it.”

“We lived in CA & got a call from MI — telling us to turn on the TV. We were sleepy but did — just in time to see the 2nd plane hit the towers. Everything was surreal. We could not believe what we were seeing & at the same time was very worried for family in NY. It was a sad day but a miraculous one too.”

fireman-100722_1280

“I lived in Tucson. I was watching the news at 6 a.m. (9 a.m. in NYC) & watched the towers come down. I remember the confusion in the voices of the newscasters as we all watched. I called my family in NYC. Then my friend whose husband was a pilot for United — to be sure he was OK. I worked at an eating disorder treatment center & had one patient who came in (about in October). She had worked in the towers & missed the elevator — all her friends died. She lived & was traumatized. I remember American flags everywhere. And our nation felt like it was extra patriotic & close.”

“I saw the Towers in NYC get destroyed by airplanes, back to back. I also saw a plane hit the Pentagon.”

“It was a day of ‘infamy’; evil at its worst and best. A day that I knew America will never be America as it once was. A day of terror beyond imagination. Fear & dread was now the new norm.”

“I was in the 2nd grade, we always started school lined up with prayer. After we left to go to class, while in class I remember the teachers being pulled out of class. When they came back, the TV was turned on and we watched a plane fly into the second tower. I was too young to understand what was happening at the time but I remember the shock on everyone’s face. It was a really sad day, we didn’t do any work that day as we watched the events unfold. Till this day I still think about those families affected & I send a prayer for them as they remember.”

memorial-835876_1280


Image credit: Tyskit 0013, tpsdave, WikiImages, tpsdave, and WikimediaImages, on Pixabay.

Leave a Reply

